LEED Gold Certification


The US Green Building Council is a non-profit organization that created the Leadership in Energy and Environmental Design (LEED) certification program. What’s so great about LEED? It encourages and accelerates global adoption of sustainable green building and development practices through a suite of rating systems that recognize projects that implement strategies for better environmental and health performance.

There are four levels of LEED certification: BASIC, SILVER, GOLD and PLATINUM. PPG Paints Arena is the only NHL LEED gold certified sports facility in North America. From design and construction to operation, this facility has been carefully planned to have a positive impact on our league, region and everyone who spends time in it.

5 Categories Of Performance Standards:

  • Sustainable site developments
  • Water savings
  • Energy efficiency
  • Materials selection
  • Indoor environmental quality

You can earn a certain number of points within each category: 26-32 points gets you certified, 33-38 gets you silver, 39-51 for gold, and 52-69 for platinum.

When buildings are designed with a fully integrated, sustainable approach, they use a lot less energy, cost less to operate and maintain, and lead to greater occupant satisfaction. PPG Paints Arena achieved a total of 42 LEED credits. Gold certification requires 39-51 points.